Meeting the Oncologist

Leslie and I had an ongoing discussion.

He wanted to go with me to the oncologist. The appointment was scheduled for a mid-afternoon, about the time he usually feeds the dogs.

I said no, I could go without him. The few disruptions in the daily schedule, the better.

No you can’t, yes I can, no you can’t, yes I can.

I gave up, and he went.

****

We’re back at the new cancer center in Okatie. I was told that the oncologist’s office was on the first floor on the left by the elevator. We went in, stopped at the COVID-19 screening station immediately inside the door on the left, and went on past the elevator. That was wrong; it was a different office. Then I puzzled out that the COVID-19 screening station was set up in front of the office, almost completely obscuring the office entrance for first-timers. We made our way inside the office, where I presented my ID and insurance card and filled out more of the same paperwork.

A nice technician named Cherish walked us back to an exam room where she took another history, checked my blood pressure, and checked my oxygen levels. She left, and Dr. Oncologist and Breast Care Navigator Erin came in.

Dr. Oncologist went over what I could expect. The DCIS is estrogen and progesterone positive, meaning that their growth is fed by hormones. After the lumpectomy, there would be radiation and 5-10 years of a hormone suppressing medication, most probably Tamoxifen. Erin gave me a copy of the pathology from the stereotactic needle biopsy.

You might have caught that Dr. Oncologist never used the word “mastectomy”. I didn’t. Leslie did, and he asked the doctor is he was saying that the surgery would be a lumpectomy, not a mastectomy.

The doctor agreed that was correct. This was eye-opening, and mind-blowing, and all the other phrases for unbelievable.

Erin gave me a tote bag with an enormous handbook about breast cancer, the different types, the possible surgeries, and what to expect, along with first-hand accounts from breast cancer survivors. There was also a folder with resources and other information, regarding diet, exercise, and counseling.

I don’t remember much else about this appointment. I’m overwhelmingly relieved that a lumpectomy could be the answer.

4 Responses to “Meeting the Oncologist”

  1. Margo Brennan Says:

    Wow! I’m here for you if you need me
    Praying for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jan Wilberg Says:

    It sounds like the beginning of a new journey – I hope you keep writing about it. And I hope treatment goes well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment