A Phone Call from Wandi

So, I’ve gotten my diagnosis that I have DCIS on the lower left side.

It’s now the weekend, and a beautiful Sunday morning, and I’m at the colony feeding the cats when the cell phone rang.

It’s Wandi from my obgyn’s office with the results of the pap smear. She said that they had been having some problems with their computer system in the office and she was trying to get caught up by making calls on a weekend. She tells me it’s normal, which I already knew because I had accessed my patient portal. I told her that we had some updates since I last saw her.

I told her that I had been diagnosed with DCIS on the left side. She said to wait a minute, she was confused by that, because wasn’t the obvious problem on the upper right?

Cancer cells are sneaky little things, aren’t they? I’m learning that.

I asked if Wandi had the results of the bone density test, and she did.

I’m normal. How that’s possible, I’m not sure, but I will attribute that to daily doses of Vitamin D as prescribed last year.

We chatted a bit more, and I am so grateful to Wandi for her phone call and taking the time to take care of her patients.

Next up, MRI with and without contrast, EKG, and chest X-ray.

3 Responses to “A Phone Call from Wandi”

  1. Audrey Bateson Says:

    Very good news Ruth! Best wishes for the same kind of results in the rest of your tests! ❤ Audrey

    Sent from Mail for Windows 10

    Liked by 1 person

  2. misunderstoodmammy Says:

    Been there – done that…yours posts are recalling memories I haven’t thought of in a while now – I had Stage 1 breast cancer and regardless of the “0” or the “1” it’s still the “C” that’s so scary.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment