Margaret E. Drew, Looking for Family, March 26, 1867

I’ve been reading the FamilySearch undigitized images of the Freedmen’s Bureau of “Roll 16 (T142), Letters sent, vol 119, July 1866-Apr 1867″. These pertain to the office in Knoxville, Tennessee, directly after the Civil War.

There is a lot of information regarding leases on lands and property that were regarded as “abandoned”. There are also many letters written to aid people and to try to resolve a problem, such as the letter written for Margaret E. Drew, who had become separated from her family.

3-26-1867 Drew looking for family

Knoxville Te. Mch 26/ 67

Agent

B. R. F. & A. L.

Somerville Chattooga Co

Georgia,

Sir-

Margt. E. Drew, (Col’d) desires to obtain information concerning her parents, Ned & Sallie Drew, who twenty years ago lived with – the former a slave – a family in Chattooga Co Ga. by the name of Drew. She states that her mother was a free woman & when she was five or six years of age, she & two sisters (Nancy & Polly) & one brother (Titus) were stolen & carried away by one Jno Harrold, who turned them over to one Jno Blagg, who brought them over to this place & sold them to a gentleman by the name of Ellis. Mr. Ellis on learning that their mother was a free woman compelled Blagg to take back the two oldest girls – Nancy & Polly – since which time she has never heard any thing from them or her parents, – she & her brother Titus having lived here ever since.

Any information concerning the above parties will be thankfully received by this woman.

Very Respectfully

Your Obdt servant

Samuel Walker

Bvt Capt Agent. etc.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: