An Estonian Influence Sock

IMG_1150

It is bad to lose your sock recipe.

Twentyish years ago I saw a sock recipe in a knitting magazine. It was titled that it was an Estonian influence sock, and it was knitted in a solid with an Estonian influenced embroidery on the ankle section. It was a great fitting sock design.

I rewrote the pattern into my own verbiage.

I do a fair amount of rewriting for no good reason other than it satisfies some inner driven urge to make things right in my world. I’ve always had this problem with things in general. I can ignore really big issues, but I will obsess over tiny details, fussing and rearranging until I am satisfied. My mother said that I would “strain at a gnat and swallow a camel”. I have been known to correct errors in files that I am getting ready to delete. It’s like I feel like I owe the universe the opportunity to judge me in a favorable light. To be fair, I don’t do it a lot. It’s not a fatal flaw. I’ve met crazier people.

I think that it would be a good idea if I got rid of some more stuff. I have some excellent Shibui sock yarn that I bought on sale with the thought that I would turn around and sell it at a huge mark-up. That was over two years ago. Best laid plans. I could have made, like, ummm, $1 profit.


I started with the best formula that I could remember by casting on 56 stitches. I can remember this number, I suppose, because that is the year I was born. I joined in the round on my DPNs and knitted two and purled two until the tube was as long as my hand. Thereafter, my memory for making the heel was sketchy. I had lost my re-written recipe. (It was in one of my bags.)

I checked my copy of Elizabeth Zimmermann’s “Knitting Without Tears” and slogged my way through the heel-turning TWICE. (I’m not counting the third time.)

 

I didn’t like Elizabeth’s toe finishing. It’s a standard finish, and I wouldn’t like it not matter who recommended it. It reminds me the shape of my socks as a child, and of having to fold my too-long socks under to prevent a wad at the toe of my shoe. One thing should not equal another, but that is how it is with me.

I couldn’t remember precisely how to knit the toe decreases.  I couldn’t – still couldn’t – find the recipe, so I settled on a method that has resulted in a slightly too-short sock, which might be counted in the WIN column since there is no folding under.

Now that the sock is finished, I have located the recipe.






Perhaps Georgia will re-knit the toe for me.


Perhaps she will flap her furry little paws and fly to the moon.

Tags:

5 Responses to “An Estonian Influence Sock”

  1. Anne Starr R. Hughes Says:

    Talented!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Missy's Crafty Mess Says:

    They look great and now you have your pattern on your blog too. I’m still trying to find my perfect sock recipe. My ankles are oddly small.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth Rawls Says:

      The blog is my scrapbook!
      Of course I have lost one of the needles so I can’t rework the sock nor start a new one. As soon as I buy some new needles I will find the lost one.

      Like

  3. owltreegal Says:

    I LOVE Elizabeth Zimmerman’s books. They’re like talking with an old friend and she taught me so much about knitting. She would never be cross with you for changing her formula–she would encourage it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

