The Revolutionary War File of John Burgess

I just don’t know how there can still be a stack of stuff that needs to be scanned and added to the blog. Because the blog? Is my scrapbook.

If I haven’t mentioned it before, there is an excellent, excellent, website called revwarapps.org. Go have a look. Go now; I’ll wait. There are thousands of transcribed pension applications and/or bounty land claims plus more.

Are you back yet? Wasn’t that amazing?!

Here’s another file that I have had for what – twenty years? I don’t know. And I keep finding more things like this, even when I thought I had finished. So now the past and the present can join together. I trot out my dog-and-pony show of old pension files, and you can read a very good transcribed version on another website.

Here are the images for John Burgess. I purchased this file in the hopes that I could find a link to tie my father’s line back to the Revolution. No such luck.

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0001

Dear Patron: We regret that the enclosed photocopies are the best we were able to obtain using our normal reproduction process.

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0002

John Burgess, N.C., S9295

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0003

St. Lawrence Post Office, N.C.

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0004

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0005

Witnesses William Burgess and John Kivett, Randolph County, NC

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0006

David Campbell and Hugh McCain

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0007

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0008

Declaration of John Burgess

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0009

John Burgess (his X mark)

burgessjohn-revwar-pension-application0010

Thomas Ragland, Clerk of Court, May 16, 1833

 

I wrote a good bit about Revolutionary William Rawls. I can’t link him to my family.

Recently I got the results of my autosomal cousin-finder DNA test. One fellow that I matched verrrrry distantly has a certain William Rawls in his family tree as the brother of the his ancestor. Because you just can’t make this stuff up…

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

