The Pension File of William Rawls: In Which I Am Late to the Dance

So.

Yesterday I finished loading all the images from the Revolutionary War pension file of William Rawls onto the computer, and wrote my little blog post. Later that night I decided to see if there were any other info to be gleaned from the internet, and I started, of course, at ancestry.com.

Good grief. William Rawls’s pension file is on ancestry, and there are 29 images. What did I have, like, maybe 7? That’s a bit annoying and embarrassing. I think this means that when I ordered the pension file, in the late 1990’s, that I got what I got in the way of identifying information regarding genealogy. I suppose the person making the copies got to make the call as to whether the remainder of the file was relevant or not. I’m scrolling along last night, and it’s getting late, and my eyes are getting tired, but I can see that I’m interested in the remainder of the file.  I started saving the images to the computer, and the quality of the images is so much improved over my scratchy little copies, it’s just unbelievable. Also, this explains to me why the last page of affidavits just seems to end nowhere, like it wasn’t finished. Turns out, it wasn’t.

I was particularly interested in a reference to Scotch Neck where William was stationed near Beaufort Island. I believe that today Beaufort Island is Port Royal Island, and the city of Beaufort is on Port Royal Island. (If I’m wrong about this, someone will tell me.) I put Sugar on the case, because I had to go to work. Someone has to bring home the Meow Mix and fry it up in the pan.

Sugar has maps and stuff. He has never let me down. When we talked on the phone at lunch, he told me he had located it. He found Scotch Neck and said that it was near Garden’s Corner and Sheldon Church and Bray’s Island. Tonight when I got home, I searched the internet for an old map of Beaufort District, and I found one on the Library of Congress site. But I couldn’t find Scotch Neck. I found everything else, including Scott’s Neck, when I realized, waitaminnit, Scott’s Neck on the my map is the same Scotch Neck where William Rawls was stationed. (Late to the dance yet again.)

In another moment of brilliance, I decided to make a family tree for William Rawls, even though he’s not mine (perhaps), because that is just what I do. When I searched for more clues for him, I found that he has a findagrave memorial, and someone transcribed the pension file and put it on the memorial. (Musicians are putting their instruments away.)

But wait! I sense a field trip to Scotch Neck. In the twenty-something years that I have been in the area, I’ve been driving right by Scotch Neck. Now, if I can find that app where you overlay a modern roadway map over a historic map…

What’s that? Is that band music I hear? Darn right it is. I might need a tiara.

(The PDF links below are for pages that you have already seen, if you looked at yesterday’s post. Going forward will be new pages, hopefully with transcriptions, if my vision holds out.)

rawlswilliam

rawlswilliam-2

rawlswilliam-3

rawlswilliam-4

rawlswilliam-5

rawlswilliam-6

rawlswilliam-7

rawlswilliam-8

rawlswilliam-9

rawlswilliam-10

rawlswilliam-11

rawlswilliam-12

rawlswilliam-13

rawlswilliam-14

rawlswilliam-15

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

