The Service Record of Thomas P. Burgess

This file is a mystery.

I received this file perhaps twenty-ish years ago from my brother. He pointed out that the soldier changed his name to Thomas P. Bridges.

This file is consistently inconsistent with name changes between the two. Is he Thomas Burgess? Is he T. P. Bridges? I have not a clue. I do know that the file for Burgess was requested, and this is what we got.

I have also decided that I would cut apart all the sheets that have multiple service cards (I’ll call them roll call sheets) on them, and scan them as individual documents. A little more investigation on the previous files has shown me that some pages of the roll call sheets are not in any kind of chronological order. Perhaps y’all aren’t reading them anyway, but suddenly this is starting to bother me, all this un-orderliness and un-chronological-ness. I’ve attempted to rectify that on this file, but these little sheets are hard for me to figure out what goes where. Some of them have multiple dates, like the date of capture, the date of enlistment, and what-have-you.

That’s right: the date of capture. I’ll not sure if this fellow was captured more than once, but he certainly was transferred around. He was also at Camp Chase in Ohio, like F.M. Rawls in the previous post.

I hereby certify that the foregoing account is accurate & just. that I have not been absent without leave during any part of the time charged for; that I have not received pay nor drawn rations, forage or clothing in kind, nor received money in lieu of any part thereof, for any part of the time therein charged; that I actually owned and kept in service the horses for the whole time charged, that I am not in arrears with the confederate States on any account whatever.

I at the same time acknowledge that I have received of Paymaster the sum of One hundred & Eighty Dollars being the amount in full of said account.

T.P. Bridges

3rd Lieutenant Company D

Bennetts Regt.

Morgans Brigade of Cavalry

He took the Oath of Allegiance on June 9, 1865, and was released.

BurgessThomasP Service Record 001BurgessThomasP Service Record 012BurgessThomasP Service Record 002BurgessThomasP Service Record 013BurgessThomasP Service Record 003BurgessThomasP Service Record 014BurgessThomasP Service Record 004BurgessThomasP Service Record 015BurgessThomasP Service Record 005BurgessThomasP Service Record 006BurgessThomasP Service Record 016

BurgessThomasP Service Record 012BurgessThomasP Service Record 013BurgessThomasP Service Record 014BurgessThomasP Service Record 015BurgessThomasP Service Record 016BurgessThomasP Service Record 017BurgessThomasP Service Record 018BurgessThomasP Service Record 019

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

