The Pension File of Lynch Webb

There are 33 pages to this file. I’ve transcribed several of the most interesting ones.

The first is the original application for a pension by Lynch Webb.

Declaration for an Original Invalid Pension

This must be Executed before a Court of Record or some Officer thereof having Custody of the Seal.

State of Tennessee, County of Knox, ss:

ON THIS 20th day of July A.D. one thousand eight hundred and eighty 7

personally appeared before me Clerk of a Court of Record within and for the County and State aforesaid LINCH WEBB aged 65 years, who, being duly sworn according to law, declares that he is the identical LINCH WEBB who was ENROLLED on the 15th day of Sept, 1862, in Company B of the 2nd regiment of Tenn Cav commanded by Capt Thos A. Jones and was honorably DISCHARGED at Vicksburgh Miss on the 24th day of May, 1865, That his personal description is as follows:

Age 65 years; height 5 feet 9 inches;; complexion dark; hair fair; eyes blue.

That white a member of the organization aforesaid, in the service and in the line of duty at Louisville in the State of Kentucky on or about Nov or Dec, 1862, he contracted diarrhoea and was very sick for a time and it resulted in piles, but he got some better, came on with his command to Murfreesboro Tenn and from the hard marching and exposure became so bad from piles he could not ride horseback. The same disease has continued to the present. That he was treated in hospitals as follows: treated on by Regimental Surgeon and Assisstant while in Regiment. That he has not been employed in the military or naval service otherwise than as stated above. That he has not been in the military or naval service of the United States since the 24th day of May 1865. That since leaving the service this applicant has resided in the Cos of Knox and Blount in the state of Tenn, and in Texas from 1879 to -82, and that his occupation has been that of a farmer. That prior to his entry into the service above named he was a man of good, sound, physical health, being when enrolled a farmer. That he is now greatly disabled from obtaining his subsistence by manual labor by reason of his injuries, above described, received in the service of the United States; and he therefore makes this declaration for the purpose of being placed on the invalid pension roll of the United States. He hereby appoints with full power of substitution and revocation W. H. ROBERTS of Knoxville Tenn his true and lawful attorney to prosecute his claim. That he has not received nor applied for a pension;p that his residence is in Knox Co Tenn and that his post office address is Uceba, Blount Co, Tenn.

LINCH (X his mark) WEBB

(Two witnesses who can write sign here)

F. M. WEBB

WILLIAM R. HARMON

Also personally appeared F. M. Webb residing at Uceba Tenn and Wm. R. Harmon residing at Uceba Tenn persons whom I certify to be respectable and entitled to credit, and who being by me duly sworn, say that they were present and saw LINCH WEBB, the claimant sign his name (make his mark) to the foregoing declaration; that they have every reason to believe from the appearance of the claimant and their acquaintance with him that he is the identical person he represents himself to be; and that they have no interest in the prosecution of this claim.

F. M. WEBB

WILLIAM R. HARMON

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 20th day of July A. D. 1887 and I hereby certify that the contents of the above declarations were fully made and explained to the applicant and witnesses before swearing; and I have no interest, direct or indirect, in the prosecution of this claim.

W. T. JONES, Dept Clerk of the County Court Knox Co.

(Filed in the pension office Jul 23, 1887.)

The next is the application of Lynch’s widow, Sarah Couch Webb.

WIDOW’S CLAIM FOR PENSION

State of Tennessee

County of Blount

On this 19th day of March, 1894, personally appeared before me, a Clerk of a Court of Record in and for the County and State aforesaid SARAH WEBB a resident of Uceba in the County of Blount and State of Tennessee aged 70 years, who being duly sworn, makes the following declaration, in order to obtain the Pension provided y the Act of Congress approved July 14, 1862. That she is the widow of LINCH WEBB who was a private in Company  commanded by Thomas Jones in the 2nd Regiment of Tenn. Cav. in the War of 1861; that her maiden name was SARAH COUCH and that she was married to said LINCH WEBB on or about the ? day of July, 1842, in the County of Blount and State of Tennessee by ESQ. JACKSON, and that she knows of no record evidence of said marriage.

SHE FURTHER DECLARES that the said LINCH WEBB her husband, died at Uceba, Blount County, in the State of Tennessee, on or about the 18th day of December, 1893 of Chronic Diarrhea, Liver Affliction & Kidneys & Bladder disease. She also declares that she has remained a widow ever since the death of said LINCH WEBB and that she has not in any manner been engaged in, or aided or abetted, the rebellion of the United States; and she hereby appoints W. C. CHUMLEA of Maryville Tenn as her awful attorney, with power of substitution, and authorizes him to present and prosecute this claim. That she has never applied for a pension but that the soldier her husband was a pensioner by Cert. No. 465031 and to which claim she here refers for any proof that may be applicable in her claim.

My Post Office address is Uceba, Blount County, State of Tennessee.

SARAH (X her mark) WEBB (Signature of Claimant.)

If mark is made, two witnesses who write sign here.

A. GODDARD

A. M. RULE

ALSO PERSONALLY APPEARED before me J. A. GODDARD and A. M. RULE residents of Maryville, Blount County, and State of Tennessee to me well known as credible persons, who being duly sworn, declare, that they were present and saw said SARAH WEBB, make her mark – sign her name to the foregoing declaration and that they have every reason to believe, from the appearance of said applicant, and their acquaintance with her, that she is the identical person she represents herself to be, and know that said deceased recognized said applicant as his lawful wife, and that she was so recognized by the community in which they resided; and that they have no interest, direct or indirect, in the prosecution of this claim.

J. A. GODDARD

A. M. RULE

Signature of Witnesses

Sworn and subscribed to before me, this 19th day of March 1894, and I hereby certify that I have no interest, direct or indirect, in the prosecution of this claim. And that the contents of the above were made known and explained to applicant and witnesses before signing.

BEN CUNNINGHAM

Clerk County Court

The next is from Merah Yearout, a Webb cousin, although he doesn’t mention the cousinage here. I’ve written about him before.

STATE OF TENNESSEE

COUNTY OF Blount

In the matter of pension claim No 612771 of SARAH WEBB widow of LINCH WEBB of Co “B” 2nd Regiment Tenn Cavalry Vols.

Personally came before me, a Clerk of a Court in and for said County and State, MERAH YEAROUT aged 52 years, whose postoffice address is Ellijoy, County of Blount, State of Tenn well known to me to be reputable and entitled to credit, and who being duly sworn declares in relation to the aforesaid case, as follows:
I was well acquainted with the Soldier LINCH WEBB. I have known him all my life. I served in the same Company with him. I have also been well acquainted with F. M. WEBB, son of the soldier since we were boys. I remember well about F. M. WEBB the son of Soldier coming to the Regiment where we camped at Will’s Valley Alabama; to the best of my recollection this was about the 1st of August, 1863, and at that time he took his father’s place in Company “B” 2d Tenn Cav, and served in his place, and his father the soldier was allowed to go home. I remember about the son F. M. WEBB standing picket with me the first night after he took his father’s place, and after he came to the company and took his father’s place he answered at roll call and all other calls to the name of LINCH WEBB. I know the above facts fro serving with the two above named soldiers and being personally and well acquainted with them as above stated. I have no interest in this claim for pension and I am not concerned in its prosecution.

This testimony was all written in my presence and only from my oral statements here made in Maryville, Tenn on the 30th day of September, 1895, made to W. C. CHUMLEA and reduced to writing by him and in making the same I did not use and was not aided or prompted thereto by any written or printed statement or recital prepared or dictated by any other person.

MERAH YEAROUT, Signature of Affiant

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this day by the above named Affiant; and I certify that I read said affidavit to aid Affiant and acquainted him with its contents before he executed the same. I further certify that I am in nowise interested in this case, nor am I concerned in its prosecution, and that said Affiant is personally known to me, that he is a creditable person and so reputed in the community in which he resides.

Witness my hand and official seal, this 30th day of Sept, 1895.

BEN CUNNINGHAM, Clerk County Court

(This affidavit was filed at the pension office on Jan 24, 1896.)

Lastly, James A. Jackson, the son of the minister that joined Lynch and Sarah in holy matrimony.

STATE OF TENNESSEE

COUNTY OF BLOUNT

In the matter of pension claim no. 612771 of SARAH WEBB widow of Linch Webb of
Co. “B” 2d Regt Tenn Cav Vols.

Personally came before me, a Clerk of a Court in and for said County and State, JAMES A. JACKSON aged 62 years, whose postoffice address is Maryville County of Blount, State of Tenn well known to me to be reputable and entitled to credit, and who being duly sworn, declares in relation to the aforesaid case, as follows:

I remember well the circumstance of my father SAMUEL JACKSON Esq going to perform the marriage ceremony between the soldier & the Claimant, cannot give the date of their marriage, I have seen the marriage License at my father’s with the return on there showing he married them. I can’t tell where the marriage Licenses are now, the last time I saw them they were with his old papers. My father has been dead near forty years. I know they were recognized in the community after that continually as husband & wife, up to the death of the Soldier. Neither the Claimant or the soldier had ever been previously married and the Claimant has not re-married since the death of her husband the Soldier, and they were never divorced from each other.

I have no interest in this claim and I am not concerned in it prosecution. This testimony was all written in my presence and only from my oral statements here made in Maryville, Tenn on the 9th day of March, 1896, made to W. C. CHUMLEA and reduced to writing by him and in making the same I did not use and was not aided or prompted thereto by any written or printed statement or recital prepared or dictated by any other person.

JAMES A. JACKSON (Signature of Affiant)

Sworn to and Subscribed before me this day by the above named Affiant; and I certify that I read said affidavit to aid Affiant and acquainted him with its contents before he executed the same. I further certify that I am in nowise interested in this case, nor am I concerned in its prosecution, and that said Affiant is personally known to me, that he is a creditable person and so reputed in the community in which he resides.

Witness my hand and official seal, this 9th day of March, 1896.

BEN CUNNINGHAM, Signature of Official, Clerk County Court

WebbLynch Pension file & WebbSarah Widow’s Pension

Leave a Reply

