The Service Record of Lynch Webb: A Bit More

I’ve been puzzling over something.

Like I said in an earlier post, I haven’t looked at the files for a long time. I kept them in a notebook, folded up in those plastic sleeves that are used for paper storage and protection. I saw that I had transcribed some records for Lynch Webb, but the transcriptions looked like pension records, and I didn’t have any pension records for him, right? Right?

Heh. Guess what I just found tonight? Pension records and a bit more of the service record.

So here’s the bit more, and I will make another post with the pension record of Lynch Webb.

2 Cav Tenn.

Lynch Webb

Co. B, 2 Reg’t, Tenn. Cav.

NOTATION.

Book mark: R & P 1141303

Record and Pension Office,

WAR DEPARTMENT,

Washington, Feb. 28, 1896.

has this day Feb. 28, 1896,

been determined by this

Department from records

on file and evidence sub-

mitted by the Commissioner

of Pensions, that the service

of this soldier was terminated

July 31, 1863, by being per-

mitted to leave the service

by way of favor, and that

one F. M. Webb, was ac-

cepted into the service of

the U.S. as his substitute

and took his place in the

company and regiment.

So the son, Francis Marion Webb, served as a substitute for his father, answering roll call in his name. By the time the war was over, Francis Marion Webb wasn’t even 18 years old, and was still too young to have enlisted. I’m just not sure how I feel about a father who allows his young teenage to serve in his place. I can’t know what the circumstances were at the time, so I’ll just leave it by saying that this bothers me. I wish I knew the answers and could ease my mind.

WebbLynch Service Record – 3 sheets

 

Leave a Reply

