The Pension File of Francis Marion Webb

I feel so smart. I’ve figured out how to scan multiple pages to a PDF using my little home scanner. Multiple for this little machine means more than 5. It DOES mean that I have to sit and tend the machine, and removed the scanned pages from the tray, or there results a big buildup of paper waddage, thus jamming the feeder. Ask me how I know about waddage.

So. Smart.

I’m looking at files that I haven’t looked at in years. This particular file for Francis Marion Webb, and the one before for Lynch Webb, I received in 1999. This is back in the day when you requested files from NARA and received paper, not electronic, copies. So many changes. If you had told me that someday I’d be baby-sitting my little home scanner and creating PDF files, I would have said PEE DEE WHAT??

F. M. Webb declares that he was born on October 26, 1847, in Blount County, Tennessee. He is 5’8″, fair complexion, blue eyes, light hair, and his occupation is farmer.

He is removed from the rolls due to his death on September 15, 1915.

Other names mentioned in the file: James R. Coulter, attorney Allen Garner, C. E. Kidd, James M. Greer, Ben Cunningham (the clerk of county court), W. C. Chumlea, William A. Anderson, Jonathan Cogdill, W. W. O’Hara,, Carrie Gibhard, Dr. Boynton of Knoxville, and F.M.’s sister Emma Tipton and her husband Commodore Perry Tipton. The Tiptons had moved to Grandview, Johnson County, Texas. F.M.’s parents had moved there in the 1880s, but returned home to Tennessee.

The most fun for me in this file for Francis Marion Webb is that his brother, Dr. Lynch D. Webb, gave an affidavit. And Dr. Lynch is my great-grandfather.

State of Tennessee, County of Knox, ss:

IN THE MATTER OF claim for Original Pension, General Law, of Francis M. Webb, Co. “B”, 2nd Regt. Tenn, Vols. Cav., No 1.248.015.

ON THIS 13 day of Feby A.D 1900 personally appeared before me, a Notary Public in and for the aforesaid County, duly authorized to administer oaths, Dr. Lynch D. Web aged 44 years, a resident of Knoxville in the County of Knox and State of Tenn whose Post-office address is Knoxville (Grove City) Tenn, well nown to me to be reputable and entitled to credit, and who, being duly sworn, declares in relation to the aforesaid case as follows:

He remembers when Francis M. Webb came home from the Army after discharge. He has lived with a great deal of the time since the war to the present and is therefore perfectly familiar with his physical condition from that time to the present time. Has only lived away from him about 3 years, only about 16 miles away from him and would see him then every two or three months visiting back and forth. He knows by actual observation that he has had diarrhoea and disease of stomach (Dyspepsea) every year since the war to the present time because he has seen him down sick and heard him complain many times each year since discharge to the present time. He has never been able to perform more than 1/2 manual labor and for the last 25 years he has not been able to work at all.

His Post-office address is Knoxville, Tenn (Grove City.)

He further declare that he has no interest in said case and he is not concerned in its prosecution.

*Lynch D. Webb, M. D.

State of Tenn, County of Knox, ss:

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day by the above-named affiant, and I certify that I read said affidavit to said affiant including the words erased, and the words added, and acquainted him with its contents before he executed the same. I further certify that I am in nowise interested in said case, nor am I concerned in its prosecution; and that said affiant is personally known to me and that he is a credible person.

*W. R. Murphy

Notary Public

Here’s the link to the file. It’s about 17 pages in a PEE DEE EFF.

WebbFrancisMarion Pension File

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “The Pension File of Francis Marion Webb”

  1. The Coastal Crone Says:

    You never know where you will find tidbits of personal information!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

