The Lawton Memorial

One of Sugar’s cousins found a postcard for sale online. She wondered if anyone knew anything about the Lawton Memorial.

I know a bit, but first I’ll have to find Sarah Alexander Lawton’s will.

Here’s the postcard image.



The building is a Greek Orthodox Church now. We drove past a few weeks ago, and I snapped a photo out the passenger side of the rear of the church.

 

Large parking lot perfect for lots of parking. Family reunion perhaps?

 

Not long after I met Sugar, years ago, he took me on a little memory tour of Savannah. We went by his grandmother’s house on Taylor Street, to Laurel Grove, to Bonaventure, and to the Lawton Memorial. There’s a historical marker there, and I suppose I have a photo of it somewhere, but no worries, there are plenty of photos of the marker online. They’re just not *my* photos.

Here is Sarah Alexander Lawton’s will, with the images coming from ancestrydotcom. She addresses that she wants a portion of her wealth to go toward the construction of a memorial building, which of course became known as the Lawton Memorial.




Now to transcribe. Anyone up for the task?

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “The Lawton Memorial”

  1. Sue Christensen Says:

    I love your blog! I hope I clicked the right box to follow it. Thanks for sharing your discoveries in such a fun and interesting way!

    Sue Christensen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

