Because Cats

Miss Ella lives in a double-wide that I pass on my way out to civilization from my ‘hood. The trailer belonged to her Uncle John, and he left it to her when he died. 

Miss Ella doesn’t have a car, and so there’s an accumulation of trash and garbage at the tree line at the edge of her lot.  I thought I saw a cat there one day. 

Then I thought I saw another cat. Then I saw a kitten. Then I saw several kittens playing in her yard, as bold as anything. 

I don’t like to think that I’ll be driving along one day and find a run-over kitten in the road. That thought makes me cringe. Maybe you cringed, too. 

This means I have to do something, so I talked to her about TNR. She was agreeable to let me trap, have them fixed, then return them, even though she’s afraid of cats, because one tried to “steal her breath” when she was 11 or 12. 

It was very hard for me not to roll my eyes right about here, because she was absolutely serious. I think my eyes widened in disbelief, but did not roll out of my head. 

First round of TNR yielded nothing. I set up a trap by the garbage. Several cats went in and out and managed to spring the trap but not get caught. I didn’t have a towel in the car. to cover the trap, so I used a broken-down box from a 24-count box of 9Lives canned cat food. 

  
  
I spotted about 8 cats and kittens in and around the woods. 

The next attempt involved setting two traps since the numbers were higher than expected and called for the big guns. I trapped 2 females, probably about 5 or 6 months old. 

I set the traps again the following week. 

I earned two kittens, one female weighing 1.8 pounds and one male weighing 2.4 pounds, probably from the same little and looking suspiciously like the black and white male I tried to trap last summer. 

  
After surgery and during recovery, I sat with the female, who might only be 7 weeks old, to see if a little handling while she was highly medicated could imprint upon her that hands were good, not bad. Sometimes the window of opportunity for taming a cat is small, and sometimes even a big window is useless. It’s 

a big mix of nature vs. nurture. 

 
 And a few days later…
 

We photobomb ourselves.


I give myself a birthday present.  

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Because Cats”

  1. Luanne @ TFK Says:

    Bless you for your work with cats. Cats cats cats. It’s almost all I think about ;).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth Rawls Says:

      I need a fundraiser. I am thinking of appealing for donations, and asking for comments on a blog post, then doing a random number generator to pick the winner of a quilt. That way, people can donate by way of PayPal and it’s not considered gambling or a lottery. Your donation doesn’t qualify you as a contestant, only your “comment” qualifies you. Donations gladly accepted.
      Any thoughts?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Luanne @ TFK Says:

        I love that idea. I’ll enter on the hopes of winning something special whereas I might not donate because I donate a lot to the shelter I volunteer at. And you also are educating people about TNR. I also am a donator to Ally Cat Allies.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Blair (The Shameful Sheep) Says:

    Aww she is so cute. Happy birthday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Coastal Crone Says:

    You are wonderful! The new baby is adorable! I have a neighbor here in town who always seem to have a new litter of kittens around. I want to suggest a little surgery! Keep up the good work. I am down to one cat but I used to have six. Daughter has 5-6.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth Rawls Says:

      Planning on setting the traps again next week. I’m surprised at how many people “like” this post. Ah, cats.
      Just take your neighbor’s cat to the clinic for her. It’s touchy approaching the topic to some folks, but the more you do it, the easier it becomes.

      Like

  4. kiwiyarns Says:

    Such a cute kittie! And well done you for trapping the cats and having them neutered! Good luck with the fundraising.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

