Batesons United by Death: On to Bonaventure!

Because Sugar and I are good citizens and try to be outstanding hosts, we take our guests to the cemetery.

If you are a new visitor to the blog, you might feel disinclined to read any more. The cemetery?

In an old city, like Savannah, there is great history and beauty in the cemetery. The foliage, the plantings, the grand trees, the view, and the memorials make for time well spent.

I don’t hang out in cemeteries in general. I go with Sugar to visit his people. When we took the Bonaventure cemetery tour, we were led into an area where we had never been. That’s right, even Sugar had never been there, and he’s been going to this cemetery for more than 50 years. It’s just that it’s a big cemetery, and our paths are small and sure. We had no reason to vary our path.

On this day, our paths are sure. We’re going to stop at Bonaventure with Sugar’s visiting Bateson cousins to visit Sugar’s people buried there.

It was on this trip that I thought I had found the spot where a photo was taken in the early 1900s. I wrote about that here. I’m pretty sure I’m right, and blog readers confirm that my eyes don’t deceive me.

A left-turn off the main lane takes us to the Basinger plot.

The guys are a little ways off from me, because I’ve been across the way taking photos of an entirely unrelated plot. Ah, distraction, how have I ever finished a single project in my entire life? (Purely rhetorical.)

IMG_7748

I’m using both the digital camera and the iPhone for picture-taking enjoyment today, but at this point in time I don’t know how to blend the iPhone photos into the blog along with the camera photos. I *do* know how to write a blog post using just the iPhone photos, and can go into the post using the laptop to edit and add the camera photos that have been saved to the laptop. But I can’t figure out how to write a blog post on the laptop and add the iPhone photos after. Because I’m figuring out stuff as I go along.  There’s probably a tutorial out there that will resolve my issue, but clearly it’s not important enough for me to worry about that now.

We’ve got cemetery photos to view.

Which will be the next post,

Because they’re on the iPhone.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

