Georgia On My Mind

And by that I mean Georgia Agnes Bateson.

All because a gentleman commented on the blog.

The Rev. Christopher Bateson is my great, great, great, Grandfather. I have be working on the family history for a number of years. have a letter from Thomas Bateson, of Savannah,Ga. written to his uncle Henry in England on April 23, 1873, on the business stationary.
In this letter he says he has taken over the business from his father, and that he has three children, Alice, Georgina Agnes, and Thomas Remington.
I am trying to find out more about this branch of the family. I am visiting in Florida this winter and am planning a trip to Savannah.
Any help you can give me would be appreciated.

Once I found out that Georgia’s middle names was Agnes and that she married a Lengnick, her married name sounded familiar. I racked my little brain until I realized that I had copied parts of a paper “Beaufort Memoirs” written by a woman named Lena Wood Lengnick, and published them here on the blog. Plus, it helps to have a search bar on the blog, since I use the blog for my scrapbook and external brain.

Then I found Georgia on another person’s ancestry.com tree. She’s mjlintexas, and she had the photo of Georgia.

She also had other photos of people in Georgia’s family, like Georgia’s husband Albert, and photos of houses, like Georgia’s husband’s brother Emil’s house. And Emil? Just happened to marry Lena Wood Lengnick, so Lena and Georgia were sisters-in-law.

Sugar found Emil and Lena’s house in one of his books, so that means…

Off to Beaufort!

Soon we’re at the St. Helena Episcopal Church where Georgia’s grandparents Daniel and Agnes Mann and some of her aunts and uncles are buried. We’ve visited them before.

Our interest today is the Lengnick family.

IMG_7662

IMG_7663

IMG_7664

IMG_7665

IMG_7666

IMG_7667

IMG_7668

IMG_7669

IMG_7670

IMG_7671

IMG_7672

IMG_7673

IMG_7674

IMG_7675

IMG_7676

 

While we are leaving the churchyard, the clock starts to chime the hour.

IMG_7681

IMG_7682

IMG_7683

 

I stand on tippy toes and photograph the Mann family plot right at the corner. Daniel has the flag and the headstone. We don’t know on which side of him is buried his wife Agnes.

IMG_7684

 

Further along North Street is the Emil Edward Lengnick house. It’s BIG. He must have done well.

It’s an inn now.

We park across the street in a parking area that probably belongs to the house that fronts on Bay, which is one block over. So basically the Lengnick house faced the back of another house.

IMG_7685

IMG_7686

The story is that the house was situated with the entrance at an angle to gather the bay breezes.

IMG_7687

IMG_7688

IMG_7689

IMG_7690

IMG_7691

 

Sugar is feeling bold and walks all around the house. I follow him, of course. I’m bold in numbers like that.

IMG_7692

IMG_7693

IMG_7694

We’re only one block off the bay. I took this shot from the back corner of the house to see if I could see the water.

 

IMG_7695

IMG_7696

IMG_7697

IMG_7698

 

As we get back to the van, I realize that the house is front of us is the Scheper house. Georgia’s mother Martha Mann Bateson had a sister Louisa, who married a Scheper. So Georgia had a sister-in-law and an aunt who were neighbors, and surely she visited with both.

IMG_7699

IMG_7700

IMG_7701

IMG_7702

Good-bye, Lengnick house. We’ve got to go to Georgia. Savannah, that is…

Two days later, we’re at Georgia Historical, and we find in the newspaper extracts this item:

IMG_7716 (2)

IMG_7716

 

SAVANNAH NEWSPAPER DIGEST

MARRIAGE AND MARRIAGES

SMN August 12, 1891: 8/4 – A. C. Lengnick, with S. Guckenheimer &

Sons, left yesterday for Beaufort, where he will marry to-day,

at the St. Helena Episcopal Church, Miss Georgia Bateson. They 

will pass through Savannah to-night enroute to Asheville, where

they will spend two weeks at the Battery Park.

SMN August 13, 1891: 8/3 – Albert C. Lengnick of this city and

Miss Georgia A. Bateson, daughter of the late Thomas Bateson of

Savannah, were married at the St. Helena Episcopal Church in 

Beaufort, S.C., yesterday. Mr. Lengnick is with S. Guckenheimer

& Sons.

So here’s my best guess. Since Georgia is getting married in Beaufort at the St. Helena Episcopal Church, I’m guessing that she and her sister Alice have been living in Beaufort instead of Savannah after their parents died, most probably with their grandmother Agnes Mann.

I really thought there would be no more mention of the Bateson family in the Savannah records after Thomas Remington Bateson died in 1879 and the girls were living at the Episcopal Orphan Home in 1880.

I might just have to go back to see.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Georgia On My Mind”

  1. Linda smith Says:

    Having grown up in and around Beaufort…wanted to add something. In 1964 when I was married. If I remember correctly …lengnicks were living in the yellow house….knew one of the daughters, Emily, who was around my age…..must have been great greats of earlier Lengnicks……..Good hunting!

    Like

  2. Linda smith Says:

    I am pretty sure her Dad’s name was Alfred

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda smith Says:

    The house was yellow back then, I think, but maybe a paler yellow..just remember I always liked it because of the color…but give me a break, I’m old….ha! My memory storage unit could be disputed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Linked By Lengnicks: Emilie Guerard Lengnick | Ruthrawls's Blog Says:

    […] Clever reader and commenter Linda Smith grew up and around Beaufort. On this previous post about Georgia On My Mind, she said that she knew Emily Lengnick and believed that Emily’s father’s name was […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

