The Gold Mine in the Closet: In Which We Look for Edith

Sugar’s grandmother lived at 122 East Taylor Street in Savannah for as long as he knew her.

We found several photos of the house in the gold mine.

scan0010 (2)

We also found one of Edith.

004 (3)

Edith worked for his grandmother. I don’t know how to properly describe what Edith did for his grandmother.  I know that she cooked and cleaned. I don’t want to call her a maid, even though that’s the descriptor we found in the city directories. I’m uptight like that, not wanting to put labels on people, even though her “job” description in the city directory says “maid”. Sugar just says Edith worked for his grandmother for a long, long time. He doesn’t call her a maid either. I suppose we could call her a housekeeper, but I think now that her role was much greater.

We were discussing Thanksgiving, and I was talking about the food that my mother made, and I asked him what his mother made, since there are differences in local dishes.  Like stuffing. Do you call it stuffing, or dressing? And is yours cornbread based, or would it be local with oysters? And did you help in the kitchen? What kind of pies were made?

He really couldn’t answer those questions, because Edith made their Thanksgiving dinner.

So now we have to know more about Edith…

But all we have is her photo. And a few Sugary memories.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Gold Mine in the Closet: In Which We Look for Edith”

  1. Simba Says:

    It has taken me this long to discover that the snow falls on your blog in a direction in reverse to my cursor placement. I’ve always been a little slow though.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      Simba, it seems to change direction on random days. Sometimes it snows toward my cursor, and other days it snows away from my cursor. Today it is snowing toward.

      Like

Leave a Reply

