The Kitten Who Came to Call

I was driving home one evening, and I had just turned on the last road before my little road.  I spotted something on the side of the road across from where the old club used to be.  A small, black-and-white something.

It looked a bit like a cat, but they don’t usually hide half in and half out of the weeds on the side of the road. Perhaps it was trash.

As I got closer, the cat, for yes, it was a cat, spotted me, and melted back into the tall weeds.

*****

Sometimes I fall asleep on the couch.  Don’t judge; you’ve done it, too.  This particular time, I woke up in the middle of the night and headed to bed.

Someone was already there ahead of me.  Someone had come inside in the night, and made himself at home on my bed.

I took these photos without flash so I wouldn’t wake up that someone.

IMG_7258

IMG_7262

IMG_7263

 

And later that day, like later where the sun is shining…

IMG_7265

He’s outside taking a sun bath.  I can’t get within 5 feet of him.

So I set the trap.

And the following morning, I am delighted to see that he has gone into the trap.

IMG_7266

 

Only he hasn’t.

IMG_7267

So who’s in the trap?  I do a quick headcount, and everyone is accounted for, so this might not be good…

IMG_7268

 

One angry possum, who apparently doesn’t care for the color pink.

I set the trap again.  And again.  And again.

And all I catch are the cats that live here.

My hope is that I can catch him somehow, and get him fixed.  He, however, has other plans.

He moves back down the road, across from the old club.  Sometimes I still see him hiding in the weeds on the side of the road.

 

Leave a Reply

