Darlin’ Baby Plays with Friends

We have now arrived at a difficult transitional time.

The Darlin’ Baby has been living in a crate during his babyhood.

He graduated to a guinea pig cage.

Back in the day, when I had 3 rescue guinea pigs, I bought the largest cage available.  This particular one was about $80 from PetEdge.com.  (I know, I know, how shameless that I spent that much on an animal product when there are people starving all over the world.  If they were here, I would feed them, too.)

It was a guinea pig’s dreamworld.  It was super big, maybe 2 feet by 4 feet.  That’s pretty big for a creature that doesn’t do very much.  I added plastic igloos and wooden houses, ’cause guinea pigs like to squeal and hide and hop about a bit, and that added vertical spaces.

Alas, all the piggers have gone on to piggy heaven, but I still have this fabulously large cage.  Large enough for a bed and a litter box and a water bowl and a food bowl.

Just big enough for a Darlin’ Baby to stretch his legs and get fresh air and be safe.  That would be his new night-time home.

During the day, when he wasn’t at work with me, I’d let him out to run and play in a little wooded patch.  He made friends with one of Mama Cat’s babies, who looked remarkably like his twin.

IMG_7062

 

Here’s the Darlin’.

IMG_7066

Here’s his twin.

Don’t believe me?  Here are the two of them together.

IMG_7070

IMG_7071

IMG_7073

IMG_7076

IMG_7077

IMG_7079

And sometimes, just like people, when animals get overstimulated, they get all cracked-out and crazy.

IMG_7081

He ran over to a wood block, which is supposed to be used for supporting a jack stand for the RV and makes for a dandy little bonus cat stand, and clung to the top of it, and looked around like he having hallucinations.

Endorphins much?

IMG_7083

IMG_7084

IMG_7085

Soon, the Darlin’ Baby is going to his new home.  We’ll miss him, but I’ll bet that another one, or six, are making their way here.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Darlin’ Baby Plays with Friends”

  1. tlinda smith' Says:

    What a darlin’!!!
    Is the grey cat at your fence….the blue grey, like Daddy …..maybe he is still around?

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      O my goodness, I didn’t think of that possibility! I’ve tried to get his picture, but he just melts away into the underbrush, and I only see him when it’s almost dark outside. I love this idea!

      Like

  2. sandradalton Says:

    Reblogged this on Feral Cat Love and commented:
    Mondays are my busiest day. So It’s a good day for me to take a break from writing posts and share some of the blogs I enjoy.

    Like

  3. Gallivanta Says:

    Cute and certainly look very alike.

    Like

Leave a Reply

