The Family Bible of Stephen Lawton, 1764-1851

I’ve written a lot about the Lawtons.  To be sure, I’ve written about the “Southern” Lawtons.  This line is traced  back, most probably, to Cheshire in England.  Imagine my surprise when I received an email that offered a Lawton Family Bible for Stephen Lawton.

So of course, I call Sugar immediately to tell him of this wonder. I tell him the Bible belonged to Stephen Lawton, and who was he? The person with the Bible is one of Sugar’s cousins, and she wants to arrange for a transport to get the Bible to me so that I can get it to Sugar.

Indeed, who was he?

He’s not in Annie Miller’s “Our Family Circle”.  And Stephen is not a Southern Lawton name.

Now we have a mystery that might not be solvable.  I contacted a Northern Lawton who has written about the Northern Lawtons for years.  He confirmed that Stephen Lawton is indeed a Northern Lawton.

So how did this Bible end up in the South with Southern Lawtons?  I’ll spell it out clearly.

*We’re not sure.*

The Bible was most probably living in Charleston with another Southern Lawton cousin, who may or may not have known that Stephen Lawton was not a Southern Lawton.  She passed away over ten years ago, and the Bible entered into the possession of another cousin who lives in Tennessee, who then recently transported it to her sister in Savannah, who then contacted me to get the Bible to Sugar.  But how did the Bible get to Charleston?

Theories welcome.  And in the meantime, here’s the Family Bible of Stephen Lawton.  I’m sorting out a family tree in an effort to find descendants.  This Bible has an amazing collection of family history.

When you get a chance, do an internet search using the terms “Jacob R. Berriman 1796 Bible.”

IMG_5433

IMG_5434

IMG_5435

IMG_5438

IMG_5439

IMG_5440

IMG_5441

IMG_5436

IMG_5437

IMG_5442

IMG_5443

IMG_5444

IMG_5445

IMG_5446

IMG_5447

IMG_5448

IMG_5449

IMG_5450

IMG_5451

IMG_5452

IMG_5453

IMG_5454

Tags:

6 Responses to “The Family Bible of Stephen Lawton, 1764-1851”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Love it, Ruth

    Like

  2. leo lawton Says:

    Ruth, you are to be commended for your thought and effort in photocopying and presenting this information for the use of all who may be researching this Lawton line. I appreciate it now, and undoubtedly scores more will in the future. Thank you!!

    Like

  3. Irene Says:

    Hello. I read one of your blogs about visiting a Baptist church in Savannah. You mentioned a Brister Lawton. That was my great-great grandfather’s name. I saw Rev. Brister Lawton who had been the 7th pastor of that church in the mid 1800s. I wonder if that was my great-great grandfather.

    Like

Leave a Reply

