Frieda Rauers Cunningham Swain, 1892-1974

All the conversations about Lawtons, and Cunninghams, and Rauers, caused Sugar to dredge up a memory.

There was a woman in his hometown who wasn’t seen very much.  Every small town, and certainly big ones, too, have people who keep to themselves.  So much so, that they became known as recluses.  (If I didn’t have to leave my spot on the couch, I’d be good with that.  I’m a recluse in training.)

Some recluses have become that way because of personal tragedy, or embarrassment, or painful shyness.  Sugar remembers that sometimes his mother, who was reclusive, would mention that she “saw Frieda today”.

Sugar and his mother didn’t talk very much, like lots of parents and children.  I don’t remember having very many real conversations with my parents.  Everything was understood and already said.

To me, for him to remember that his mother mentioned seeing Frieda was of some importance, some significance, in her appearing in public.  We wondered if we could find out more about her.  He found a bit about her husband in one of his books, and I went in search of her on the internet.

I found her on findagrave.    This meant we had to go to Bluffton.

*****

Sugar grew up in Bluffton.  Yet he had never been to the Bluffton Cemetery, because his people were most recently from Savannah.  We had no idea where to start, so we parked along the drive into the cemetery, and wandered about.  I was happy that I had my rubber boots in the car, what with all the rain.

And somehow, Sugar wandered right up to her gravestone.  She shared it with her husband, William Moseley Swain.

IMG_4551

IMG_4552

IMG_4553

 

IMG_4554

And, as is my way, I circled around the plot taking photos.

IMG_4555

IMG_4556

IMG_4557

It’s an old graveyard.  There are many nice trees and plantings.

 

IMG_4564

IMG_4565

Sugar saw some folks he knew.

IMG_4566

Imogene Fripp Lowden

 

IMG_4567

Enid Fripp Duncan

 

IMG_4568

Kirk was a childhood friend of Sugar’s.

 

IMG_4569

IMG_4570

Harry Oliver “Ollie” Lowden, Jr.

 

Then I took a photo of this small headstone, just because.

 

IMG_4574

And on the opposite side….

IMG_4571

Gone to be an angel

I don’t know who Jane Hope is, but her headstone was all alone, so let’s remember her here.

IMG_4575

IMG_4578

The Van Duyn family had a bulb farm. Sugar remembers it.

 

IMG_4581

Most of these plots are not fenced off.  The next one was, although overgrown, and I had to keep pushing branches out of the way in order to get the next photos.

IMG_4582

IMG_4584

The Martin family is an old name in this area.  And there’s Ole Yeller, faithfully waiting at yet another graveyard.

IMG_4589

IMG_4588

IMG_4586

So it was a good outing.  We found what we were after, Sugar found some old friends, I found some interesting markers, and no one was arrested for trespassing.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Frieda Rauers Cunningham Swain, 1892-1974”

  1. Sharon Says:

    This is a beautiful plot, Ruth.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      Yes, it is. I moved here in 2001, and when I saw this cemetery, I said that I had to get in there and look around. I had no idea that life would get in the way, and I’d have to wait 12 1/2 years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

