The Citizen’s Free Library

When Sugar bought the grooming-and-boarding business two years ago, he signed a three-year lease on the building.  We considered that now that the lease is almost up, perhaps we should look at other properties, even though we don’t think that there will be anything available.

We looked at buildings that were for rent or sale in our little town.  We didn’t actually tour any, we just looked at the outside and considered if it was large enough and what renovations it would need.

One of the buildings was the old Coca-Cola building.

IMG_4950

It was a patchwork-looking affairs, and had several additions to it.  It probably wouldn’t work, but we drove around the building anyway….

…and found the Citizen’s Free Library.

IMG_4939

IMG_4940

And because Sugar is a book collector, of sorts, we had to get out and take a look.

IMG_4941

IMG_4942

I didn’t even want to touch them.  They were dusty, and warped, and some were mildewed, and they smelled bad.

IMG_4943

IMG_4944

IMG_4945

I said, “Oh, my gosh, this is just ridiculous.  Why are you looking at these?  These are just disgusting, and don’t even think of taking any of these books, and ohIhavetohavethisone.  It’s Sam Levinson!”

IMG_4946

IMG_4947

IMG_4948

There were embroidery hoops, and old stuffed animals, and Yarn!

IMG_4949

Sam Levinson wrote the first adult book I ever read.  I was probably in the fourth grade, and I was standing in front of the children’s section in the church library, trying to decide which book I was going to read – again – and the librarian said, “Let me show you this one.”  And she went to the next bookshelf (it was a very small library that had maybe four bookcases), and she pulled off Sam Levenson’s “Everything But Money”.  I protested that it would be too hard for me, and she said that it wouldn’t.  I was worried that I was going to get in trouble for reading a too-hard book, but I was taught to obey figures of authority, so I was stuck.

It was the best book ever.

And now, thanks to the Citizen’s Free Library, I have my very own Sam Levenson book, “In One Era and Out the Other”.

IMG_4992

Thanks, Citizen’s Free Library!  No late fees!

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “The Citizen’s Free Library”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I am with Sugar on this, Ruth. Just went to the bookstore yesterday, and I am moving! I can not resist books or fabrics.

    Like

  2. Becky Says:

    I loved that church library and can still see the librarian’s sweet little face. Her name is on the tip of my tongue; do you recall it, Ruth? I remember reading the Sam Levinson book, and I loved it, also.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      Holy cow, I misspelled Levenson.
      I can’t remember squat. Did it start with an M?

      Like

      • Becky Says:

        Well, I was sorta having a brain blip go by with “Monger” when I thought about her. I was kinda thinking she was related to Frances Wilkins also, for some reason. How blessed we were to have that library!

        Like

Leave a Reply

