Easter Lilies For Bonaventure & Laurel Grove, 2013

See how far behind I am?  I’m just now writing about Easter, and it was early this year.  It can’t be helped.  I was trying to blog about things in a chronological, sensible-type order, but dead people keep gumming up the works.  Transcribing old letters has made me get my head examined, or, more correctly, my eyes, which are, technically, in my head.  I am now the proud owner of trifocals, which are respectfully referred to as “transitional” lenses.  Call them what you want, we all know that they are trifocals.  And I love them.  Except for the part that I can now see all the dog hair.

*****

Oh, yes, back to Easter.

Sugar said that his mother always went to the cemetery on Christmas and Easter, and she took flowers for the graves.  So sometimes we miss the flower-taking on the holidays, but we *wanted* to do it.  We had *good* intentions.  We were *going to do it*, but it just didn’t happen.

We talked about it again, but could we make it happen?  Or would we buy the flowers, and not go, and the flowers fade away on the top of Sugar’s refrigerator?

I was in Home Depot, or perhaps Lowes.  I can’t remember, and I didn’t have my new glasses yet, so it’s not like I could see where I was.  Yet I drive.  And yet I digress.  You know that funny meme that’s making the rounds on the internet about “Dance Like No One Is Watching”?  Yeah, they don’t want you doing that in the Home Depot and Lowes.

I spot a display of Easter lilies, and I call Sugar, and shout something about “LILIES”, like that would improve the poor cell phone connection of me being in a big metal box of building, and I shouted “CHEAP”.  I can only hope that the other customers did not think that I was soliciting business by shouting that I was cheap.  “Lily’s cheap!”

Anyway, I bought four small pots of cheap Easter lilies.  If we didn’t go, then we could just stick them in the ground and hope for the best, which is pretty much my premise on gardening.  I do the sticking-in-the-ground part, and it’s up to the plant to do the rest.

Sugar was not very happy when he saw just how cheap the lilies were.

IMG_3493

My reasoning for buying cheap Easter lilies is that no one is going to take care of them once we place them at the cemetery, so it’s really that we are showing a token of affection for the dead.  We’re not setting out to impress anyone, right?  Right?

IMG_3494

The first stop was Laurel Grove, and I was actually more interested in seeing how the crape myrtles were doing.

IMG_3495

Those little darlings were doing just fine.  The doggone things were going to live, and grow, and bloom, after all.

IMG_3496

The oleander came back, too.

IMG_3497

IMG_3498

I was sitting on the headstone of Emily Augusta Lawton to get a good angle on the grave of William and Alice Garrard, and right about here, I got a little weepy.  I am so far from home, even though this is home now, and the day was just so perfect and crisp, and I couldn’t help but tear up a bit.  I covered it up pretty well.  Sugar didn’t notice.

IMG_3499

He was busy slinging debris.

IMG_3500

I walked around a bit.  There was no one else in the cemetery.  Everyone else goes to the tourist attraction cemetery at Bonaventure.

IMG_3501

Lawton O. Clanton and his wife Anzie L. Floyd.

Here’s a Lawton, but we don’t know who he is.

IMG_3502

Somebody’s mother has been here a long time for a tree to grow big enough to disrupt her grave markers.

IMG_3503

Somebody’s mother is Georgia Barrington King. You can see the Jones-Lawton mausoleum in the background.

IMG_3504

IMG_3505

Oooh, wisteria!  You can almost smell it, can’t you?

IMG_3506

And the first Easter lily has been placed at the Jones-Lawton mausoleum. The crape myrtles are to the right rear of the mausoleum, and they should be really magnificent by July.

IMG_3507

William Garrard and his wife Alice Knott Garrard.

We finished up, and headed on our way out, stopping to see a few more headstones.

IMG_3508

Some of the Confederate dead.

IMG_3509

IMG_3510

This man is from Tennessee.  What’s he doing here?  Heck, what am I doing here?

IMG_3512

Now at Bonaventure at the Basinger plot.  The big cross is for William Starr Basinger and his wife Margaret Roane Garnett Basinger.  Perhaps you read some of his Civil War letters that I posted when he was a prisoner of war.

IMG_3513

The azaleas were blooming, and it was a spectacular sight throughout the cemetery.

IMG_3514

Sugar dug out a little indentation for the flowerpot to sit down in. I have no clue what he’s pointing and exclaiming at. Yes, I ended a sentence in a preposition. No, I do not care.

IMG_3515

And the second lily has been placed.

IMG_3516

Turning away from the Basinger plot, we look across the lane to the Starr plot, and Sugar notices that the headstone that has been lying on its face for forever has been moved.  The whole cemetery looks cleaned.

IMG_3517

These pieces were leaning against each other, so we repositioned them to see if we could read them.

IMG_3518

IMG_3519

IMG_3520

IMG_3521

IMG_3522

I took dirt and rubbed it into the indentions.

IMG_3523

IMG_3524

IMG_3525

IMG_3526

That method doesn’t work as well on a dark stone, so perhaps light-colored sand on a dark stone is the answer.  We don’t have any sand.

IMG_3527

IMG_3528

IMG_3529

IMG_3530

IMG_3531

IMG_3532

We look at this worn headstone from this angle.

IMG_3533

Then this angle.

IMG_3534

We suddenly realize that this is Peter Basinger, who was a hatter and died of delerium tremens.  Was he as “Mad as a Hatter” and it killed him?  Perhaps.

IMG_3535

The third lily has been placed for Jane Starr Basinger.

Jane Starr Basinger married Peter Basinger’s son, Thomas Elisha Basinger.

IMG_3536 StarrEdwinPearson

Here’s Edwin Pearson Starr, who wrote letters from the hospital in Virginia to his aunt, Jane Starr Basinger.  He rests beside her.

IMG_3537

Here’s the back of Edwin Pearson Starr’s grave.

IMG_3538

IMG_3539

This flat stone is for Ann Starr. She married William Starr. There is another monument in this plot for them at the front right corner as you face the plot.

IMG_3540

Charles Henry Starr is a child of Ann and William Starr.

Charles H. Starr is our Edwin Pearson “Eddie” Starr’s father.  Charles had a brother also named Edwin Pearson Starr who is buried in Charleston, SC.

IMG_3541

IMG_3542

All the folks in the Starr plot were once buried in Laurel Grove.

IMG_3543

A final look at the Basinger plot.

IMG_3544

IMG_3545

IMG_3546

IMG_3547

IMG_3548

IMG_3549

Henry R. Jackson.

I wrote about him in this post.  He was a law partner with Alexander Robert Lawton and William Starr Basinger.  The dissolution of their law firm is mentioned in Sarah Alexander Lawton’s diary, which I will write about in a future post.

IMG_3550

IMG_3551

IMG_3552

IMG_3553

IMG_3554 IMG_3555

IMG_3556

IMG_3557

IMG_3558

And there’s Corinne Elliott Lawton.

IMG_3559

We brought a lily for her, too, and we placed the lily next to her.

IMG_3560

IMG_3561

One of the stories about this statue of Jesus is that he is staring at Corinne’s back, and won’t let her into heaven.  (Rolling eyes here.)  Yes, of course, a totally Christ-like thing to do.  (Can y’all tell I’ve had it with the stories about these people?)

IMG_3562

The line of sight appears to be through the threshold to the plot and to a mausoleum beyond.

I stood in front of the Jesus statue, and looked in the direction that he would be looking in if his eyes worked.  Good grief, people, he’s not looking at Corinne.  At all.

IMG_3563

Someone had already given her azalea blossom, which means that they desecrated a cemetery azalea by breaking off a branch.

IMG_3564

This appears to be the end of the imaginary line of sight by the Jesus statue.

IMG_3565

I don’t know much about Star Trek, but I couldn’t resist this one.  They seemed to be no trouble at all.

IMG_3567

Ah, camellias.  So colorful in the cold weather.

We came to the Meldrim folks.  There’s a mention of Meldrim in Sarah Alexander Lawton’s diary, but I hadn’t found the diary when we were at the cemetery, so another odd coincidence that I took photos of this at all.

IMG_3568

IMG_3569

IMG_3570

IMG_3571

IMG_3572

IMG_3573

IMG_3574

IMG_3575

It’s getting late.  We’ve delivered the lilies, and I saw other lilies just like ours decorating the cemetery.

Good night, everyone.  Sleep well.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

