Breezing Through Georgetown

So, the Sugar and YoursTruly head into Georgetown.  We’re finally headed truly homeward.  This little getaway began on a Monday morning, and we were home by Wednesday evening.  Yet it has taken me over three months to finish blogging about this trip.

It’s all the dadgum letters.  I’ve transcribed them as best I could from my photographs, and I’m sure that I’ve missed some stuff, so if you spot errors, please tell me in the comments.  Did you know that all comments go to my inbox?  And there’s also an alert button that lights up on the blog page when I get new activity.  I’m telling you, I don’t miss a trick.  On the blog.  I don’t miss a trick on the blog.

In the midst of all the transcribing of the letters, I’m still taking photos, and I have a boatload of good stories to talk about.  We have Easter, and Mother’s Day, the Lawton Fam Reunion, and Kittens!  I haz kittuns!

(Clearing throat.)  Back to Georgetown.  We are looking for a rice museum.  Sugar got it into his pretty little head that there must be a rice museum in Georgetown, since it was a center of rice cultivation.  So, rice museum, or whatever museum-ish sort of activity that we can find.  It will probably involve dead people.

This will do nicely.

This will do nicely.

Old Colonial  Banking House ~~~ Est. 1735

Old Colonial
Banking House
~~~
Est. 1735

And the Winyah Lodge.  (A big shoutout to Reader Sharon who is researching Lodges.)

And the Winyah Lodge. (A big shoutout to Reader Sharon who is researching Lodges.)

ONLY COLONIAL BANKING HOUSE IN AMERICA. BUILT IN 1735 WITH MATERIALS BROUGHT FROM ENGLAND. ERECTED BY  THE GEORGETOWN CHAPTER D. A. R.

ONLY
COLONIAL BANKING HOUSE
IN AMERICA.
BUILT IN 1735 WITH
MATERIALS BROUGHT FROM
ENGLAND.
ERECTED BY
THE GEORGETOWN CHAPTER D. A. R.

The nice museum people directed us to a Screven Cemetery, which could be found by walking through a parking lot literally into someone’s back yard.  (The museum had rice for sale, and Sugar scooped up a bag of Carolina Gold.)

IMG_3455

IMG_3456

IMG_3457

IMG_3458

 

SCREVEN CEMETERY

HERE ARE BURIED WILLIAM SCREVEN (1629-1713) AND OTHER MEMBERS

OF HIS FAMILY.  A NATIVE OF ENGLAND, HE MIGRATED TO KITTERY, ME, AND

WAS PERSECUTED BY NEW ENGLAND AUTHORITIES FOR NON-CONFORMITY.

HE AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE KITTERY CHURCH CAME TO S.C. BY 1698.

THEY SETTLED IN CHARLESTON AND BECAME THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH

IN THE SOUTH.  HE WAS THE FIRST BAPTIST PREACHER IN THE SOUTH.  HIS

SON, ELISHA, WAS A FOUNDER OF GEORGETOWN.

ERECTED BY S.C. BAPTIST HISTORICAL SOCIETY

1974

IMG_3460

IMG_3463

Whew!  That was a lot of blogging for such a short trip!  I’m glad to be home!  Maybe I’ll transcribe these historical markers.

Maybe not.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

