In Search Of Lawtons & Basingers: William Starr Basinger Writes To His Mother, June 25, 1865

IMG_3379

                                Johnson’s Island, June 25, 1865

My dear Mother, I wrote you at length by F. Blois, who has

probably delivered it (?).  Fleming was to leave N. Y.

yesterday, & he too will probably see you before this reaches

you.  I have nothing to add to the accounts they will

give you.  My health is as good as ever, & the living

fair.  (The next sentences are impossible to read clearly.)

I have probably explained that (?)  announced the

purpose to make regulations for the release of F.officers,

as soon as the inferior grades were  disposed of.   If it intends

to keep its word, it must do so very soon.  Dr. Caylor

wrote me, having received your letter.  Mother, I am very

sorry you did that.  I will explain when I see you.

I have not answered his letter.  Mr. McCalla also writes

us.  Him I have answered & told him to proceed.  But

they have no notion of what they ought to do to affect

anything.  I’ve put Mr. M on the task to (?), if he is

not anticipated by a yes (?) order.  If he fails (?) an order

does not come, I shall write to the New Gov. & Dist. Judge of

Geo, both of them acquaintances, perhaps I may say friends.

Don’t think me indifferent to his situation.  On the contrary, I am

full of anxiety about it.  (?) satisfied, though I can’t explain

myself now, that everything I do in (?) present condition is

with the highest motives & upon consideration of what

is best.  A letter from Mrs. Smith informs me of E’s release.

(?) Hays writes me about clothes etc.  My love to all.  Yrs Affly,

                                Wm. S. Basinger

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “In Search Of Lawtons & Basingers: William Starr Basinger Writes To His Mother, June 25, 1865”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I noticed in the earlier letters that Wm. Basinger spoke of going to Canada. This was 1865. Interesting that 100 years later, people were speaking of going to Canada, again, because of political turmoil.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      I was surprised, too, especially when he had commented on how miserably cold he was as a prisoner of war in Ohio.

      Like

Leave a Reply

