The Cat Mat

I have a knitting and felting project that I call a “Cat Mat”.  It’s a simple concept.  I knitted a large rectangle using 100% wool yarn, the kind that shrinks (not the superwash kind), and then felted it, for the cats to sit on.

Cats love wool.  If you’ve ever had a cat and any wooly items in the same room, the cat is instantly attracted to the wooliness, and proceeds to knead their paws on the item (that action is called “making biscuits”), and perhaps even nursing the item.  If you sleep in wool socks or under wool blankets, that will definitely wake you up.

So if I give them their own mat, they should love it, right?  And if I use leftover yarn, that’s a good way to be un-wasteful, yes?  It would seem so, but then I stopped being certain about most things a few years ago, after (it seemed) I was always wrong about the thing I was most adamant about.  I’m like anyone else.  I like to be right.  I’m just not very good at it some days.

This cat mat thingy was taken to the grooming business, where the BabyBoy is the groomer, and there are three resident cats.  Perhaps you’ve met them before here on the blog, but if not, the three are Errol, Gerald, and Car-E.  They were going to be the focus group for this project.  (I learned the term “focus group” in one of my business classes.  Glad to know I didn’t spend all that money on university classes for nothing.)

Errol is first as usual.

Errol is first as usual.

Car-E is usually last when it doesn't involve food, but not today.

Car-E is usually last when it doesn’t involve food, but not today.

Gerald is a scaredy cat, but if Car-E thinks it is safe, Gerald is in.

Gerald is a scaredy cat, but if Car-E thinks it is safe, Gerald is in.

First in, first out.

First in, first out.

What is that delicious odor?

What is that delicious odor?

Car-E has her very own parking pad.

Car-E has her very own parking pad.

Full of ennui.

Full of ennui.

The finished product is about 17″ x 14.5″ x 3/8″ high.

Finished mat, felted and dried, and it's not nearly as cute without a cat attached to it.

Finished mat, felted and dried, and it’s not nearly as cute without a cat attached to it.

If you are interested in looking at the Cat Mat in my Etsy Shop, try clicking on this.  If someone buys the Cat Mat, I’m guessing that the link will be inactive (notice how I didn’t say “I’m *sure* the link will be inactive”??).

And if I could figure it out, I’d put an Etsy button in the sidebar for you to click onto to get to the Etsy shop easily.  But then, I’d have no reason to live.

(Etsy.  Sidebar.  Bucket List.)

Cool cats of the world, enjoy the Cat Mat!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “The Cat Mat”

  1. ruthrawls Says:

    Look at that. The link didn’t work. I’ll try again.

    Like

  2. Becky Says:

    My favorite pic is the one of Car-E and her parking pad. She just looks so ultra relaxed!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

