Maybe It’s The Weather

I am happy to report that my most-viewed post for 2012 was called “Ticked Off; Or Not For The Faint Of Heart”.

That’s right.  Ticks.

Perhaps I should start a new Tag and/or Category.

I am also happy to report that yesterday I found a tiny baby tick on my left hand.  Inside the RV.

Which leads me to why there would be a baby tick alive and awake in December, 2012.  Why, indeed?

The winters are fairly mild here along the coast of South Carolina, which is not to say that it doesn’t get down to freezing occasionally here at the Swamped! Plantation and Tick-Conserving Facility.  But I’ve read that for the insect population to be slightly abated, there needs to be 30 consecutive days of freezing weather.

We don’t get that kind of consecutive cold here.  It’s only been in the last week that the temperature actually dipped to right at the freezing mark.  The low point tonight is projected to be in the mid-50’s.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for a mild winter because that means a lower electric bill for me.  And since I’m still financially embarrassed, every little bit helps.

I’m just hoping that my top post for 2013 is not about ticks.

Because *you know*, that is SOOO last year.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

