Pinckney Colony

On Sunday, December 16, 2012, Sugar and I, on a whim, drove down Pinckney Colony Road.

I’d never been on that road, even though I’d driven by it hundreds (thousands?) of times.  When Sugar was a boy, he and his brother would ride their bikes out to Pinckney Colony to spend the night with a friend.  He said it must have been ten miles by bike on dirt roads, and they might see three cars.  That same ride today might yield three THOUSAND cars (Maybe.  Really, I don’t know, I haven’t done the research, but it sounds like an entirely good number.).

Sugar still can’t believe the changes that have taken place in his sleepy little village.  Concrete, buildings, and golf courses everywhere.  So for fun we deviated from our regular Sunday shopping to see how Pinckney Colony had changed since Sugar was a boy.

There were things he could identify, like the Monkey Farm, which has since moved, but is still in the general Lowcountry area.  (When he was a boy, some of the monkeys escaped and were living in the wild.  Imagine waking up to monkeys chattering in the trees outside your window.)

Speaking of chattering, he started talking about someone he knew named MaryO, and how she and her husband had a dairy farm, and how she now has an organic garden and sells produce at the farmer’s market, and how she must be, oh, in her eighties.  And how MaryO’s mother Olive played the organ at the Episcopal Church by the river where he was an acolyte, and there might be seven people at the service.

We got to the end of the road, which wasn’t exactly the end of the line, because it ended at a private driveway, guarded by a farm gate, that wandered off and away through the trees.  So clearly, we stopped, because we are good citizens (and, ummm, also we were observing the “no trespassing” sign).  Seemed like a good spot for a photo.

IMG_2666

When I got home I did a little internet stalking, in the nicest way possible, on Pinckney Colony.  I found this.

And there’s MaryO with a story about growing up on Pinckney Colony, and photos of her family, and she mentions her mother and her mother’s love for playing the piano.

Then I did what I usually do when I’m researching people and trying to get them placed in their proper spots in my mind.  I made a family tree on http://www.ancestry.com.

Sugar thinks that Miss Olive is related to the Lawtons somehow, but I can’t find that link.  Yet.

I need more time in the day.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

