Mama’s Got A Brand New Bag

After all the hat fun while making the hat for Reader Sharon, I set out to make a knitted-and-felted purse.

Here’s the before.

It's about twentyish inches long plus the handles.

It’s about twentyish inches long plus the handles.

IMG_2581

And about 16″ wide. I spread the backside of a quilt on the top of a gigantic dog crate for this photo shoot. The dog crate was the only thing that I had that was big enough and easily portable to take advantage of the winter sunshine. The cats are still using the picnic table for the picnic table wars.

IMG_2580 IMG_2582

And then after…

IMG_2660 IMG_2661

Now the dimensions are about 14″ x 14″, after a few sessions of felting in the washing machine.  These last two photos are taken inside the RV under artificial light, which accounts for the color difference.  I assure you that you can step outside and the colors increase their vibrancy.

Just imagine what your woolen sweaters will look like if they accidentally go through a wash cycle.

I’ll let you in on a little secret.  When I’m knitting these bags and don’t have a tape measure handy, because it’s probably wherever the safety pins are, I knit the bag about as long as the length from the tip of my fingers to my elbow.  That length is about 18″, not the 20″ in the before photos.  I knitted the green about 18″ long, then switched over to the hot pink, and knitted that color about 2″ before I bound off the bottom.

Did you know that it’s easy to knit while watching TV online?  So easy that you might not stop to measure your project.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Mama’s Got A Brand New Bag”

  1. sharon Says:

    Wore my retro red hat today, feels very 30ish, and got many compliments. LOVE LOVE LOVE the hat! Then the pink and green bag arrived today, first it was bigger than I expected (’cause I didn’t read the measurements), that’s a good thing, just a bonus to the very pretty colors. I didn’t know when I ordered it that those were the recipients favorite colors! Somethings are just meant to be! The fact that this is a “made in the USA” product is another reason to own it. Thank you Ruth, I am so very happy with my cool hot and everything else.

    Like

  2. sharon Says:

    *hat*

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      I like “cool hot”! It sounds like a new product line!
      I decided that the bag that you bought on Etsy was too small, so I made a new *bigger* one! The one that was featured on Etsy was made in a different yarn and turned out smaller than my original prototype. So you have the 3rd, newest, up-to-datest model.
      So glad you are glad!

      Like

  3. TheBarnTales Says:

    I have tried knitting a few different times in the past couple of years and it’s been a disaster every time. I keep thinking I’m going to try to do much smaller pieces of knitting, then crochet them together, ha! It’s very relaxing, though… as long as I don’t actually try to make anything.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      You are a perfect scarf-maker candidate! Take a needle of your choice like a size 7 or larger, cast on 19 stitches, and work back and forth in garter stitch which means that ALL stitches will be knit stitches. If your needle is really big, just hold two strands of yarn together as one. Knit until it is the desired length or you are about to lose your mind. Bind off. Wear. Enjoy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

