October Is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Here’s a link.

Well, hey, you’re thinking, well, hey, ruthrawls.  It’s NOVEMBER.

I never said I was on top of things.

So why bring this up now, since it’s, ummm, November and everything?  Because it’s easier to talk to total strangers than it is to someone close to you.

And hello there, total strangers, and welcome to the blog.  For you not-so-total-strangers, let’s talk about health care.

I’d really rather not talk about health care, or my lack of it.  I’ve been gainfully employed since 1978, and even if you can’t do the math, that’s a heckuva long time ago.  It seems that now I’m unemployed, and have been so for two months and three days – let’s call it nine weeks.

The last time I had a health exam was five years ago.  After all the exams and the diagnostics, I spent $800.00.  After I went back to college in 2008, that’s $800 that I don’t have.  Things are pretty spartan here right now, and y’all are thinking, Hmmm, I really hate my job, but at least I have a job.  That’s right, ruthrawls doesn’t.

Unless you count blogging, and the pay is not that great, unless you think nonexistent is great.

So.  Last week I found a lump or two or three, pertaining to the topic of this blog post, and I suddenly realized that I could probably afford health care, because there are programs to help people like me.  I called the health care clinic where I went in 2007, and explained the situation, and made an appointment, just as easily as typing this sentence.

There’s no history of breast cancer in my family, but still.  I don’t seem to be following the family pattern.

So this past Tuesday, I started off my day with a visit at 8:30 AM.  I filled out copious amounts of paperwork, and presented unemployment records from the state office that I was truly unemployed, and signed on all kinds of dotted lines.  My vitals were good, and the nurse (a Spanish man named Gilbert that I could barely understand, especially when he asked “Do you have your uterus?”  That was a knee slapper.) thought that I would qualify for a program called the Best Chance Network.

The clinic runs on a sliding scale, and I had already presented $30.00.  The clinic had to make a few phone calls to confirm that I qualified, and that I would be assigned a number, my BCN number.  Once the number was assigned, I received an exam or two, and the good doctor decided that I needed to travel on to another clinic for a mammogram, and ultrasound, and a consultation with a surgeon, if need be.

Are y’all seeing dollar signs?  I didn’t because my $30.00 was refunded to me, and all of the services I mentioned were included in the BCN.  The criteria for being included in the BCN was an age group (I’m in), a salary range (I’m in), and no insurance (I’m in!).

I had the mammogram which involved a large plastic vise-like machine.  The images are out of sight on a computer monitor display at the technician’s station.  When I asked if I could look at the images, she said I could, which said to me that if I were in danger, she wouldn’t let me see.  I asked her what a cancerous image would look like, and she said, “Like a spider web”.  Like tentacles reaching out from the spot.

The radiologist wanted me to have an ultrasound, which I did, then on to talk to the surgeon about options, which I did.

It’s all good news.

Except I still don’t have a job.  So I’ve opened an etsy shop online, which you can go look at if you can find it.  I’ll give you the link later, but it has something to do with Catcatcher Corner.  There’s not very much in the shop, but I’m knitting like crazy.  And y’all can’t have the baby afghan.  SharonElaine’s already claimed it.

Now I’m off to take photos, of etsy stuff for the shop.

And you?  Go celebrate National Breast Cancer Awareness.

(Look at that.  I don’t have any tags or categories for breast cancer awareness.  What kind of slacker blogger am I?  Oh, I know.  The kind that doesn’t have to worry about writing about national breast cancer awareness.)

11 Responses to “October Is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month”

  1. kari Says:

    Oh Ruth,

    You are simply the best. I am SO glad everything is clear.
    I can’t wait to see your ETSY shop. Shoot me a button, I would love to put it on my blog.

    Like

  2. Becky Says:

    Never have I ever read through your blog so quickly, because I wanted to find out that you was a-okay!! Glad to get to the “rest of the story” and know that you are! (((Ruth)))

    Like

  3. linda smith Says:

    So glad to hear the good news………..and I just know a job is coming soon……..I am praying.
    Love ya!

    Like

  4. Deb Says:

    Great blog! Thanks for reminding us all to do whatever it takes to take care of ourselves.

    Like

  5. denise collett Says:

    I enjoy your . blogs. Glad you are Ok . I have founs myself where you are and it was not a fun place to be. YOu think I have to start a new job at ahem our age..LOL BUt I hope you will soon find employment and find something you enjoy as I did . Hope to see you in December .

    Like

  6. Linda T Says:

    You won’t believe this but when I posted on our high school class FB page about mammograms this weekend I had not read this. I held my breath while reading this. Love you Ruth and I know a job is coming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

