Benjamin Grubb Humphreys, 8/26/1808-12/20/1882

Remember this girl?  That’s right, she’s none other than Mary Humphreys Stamps.  Her father was Benjamin Grubb Humpreys, and he’s a great big heap of history.  I did a google search for Benjamin Grubb Humphreys, for Sugar and history, and I came up with some stuff, the standard fare like Wikipedia, but there was also a jstor article.  B.G.H. is Sugar’s g-g-g-grandfather (or course), and Sugar want to know where the “Grubb” came from.  He was pretty sure that the article would answer that question.

Sugar got all antsy about the jstor article.  Do you know about jstor?  You. Must. Learn. Then.

JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.
©2000-2012 ITHAKA. All Rights Reserved. JSTOR®, the JSTOR logo, and ITHAKA® are registered trademarks of ITHAKA.

Does that sound too complicated?  Well, here’s the link to jstor – http://jstor.org, and let me say that scholarly articles are online, for a price of course.  And before you get all squirmy-uncomfortable about the word “scholarly”, keep in mind that this includes historical articles about, ummm, historical stuff, including people!

Somehow, Sugar found out that there was an article, an AUTOBIOGRAPHY, for his ancestor Benjamin Grubb Humphreys.  He has been bugging me for weeks (weeks, people!) to order this durn article for him.  I tell him to do it himself.  He says he can’t.  He says he doesn’t know how.  He says he doesn’t have high-speed (yes, he is the last one on the face of the earth that uses *dial-up*).  He says you already have an account.  He says he will pay me.

Oh, he’ll pay, alright.

And truly, because of the water-dripping-on-the-stone method, I finally did it.  I went to jstor, signed in to my account, found the article, paidfor and downloaded, and the article arrived at my jstor account in the form of a portable file document.  I must say that it took a while, like a day or more, for the article to arrive.  Not complaining when you compare that to postal mail, but this was the first time I’d ordered one and I kinda-sorta thought it would be sent to my email.  Newer, steeper learning curve, and just when I thought I knew some stuff.

I scanned the article, after purchasing, of course, and I was a bit put out with old Benjamin Grubb Humphreys.  He was definitely a white man of the times, and Sugar keeps reminding me of that.

(I’m trying something new today.  This article was downloaded as a PDF.  I attempted to insert the link for the entire PDF instead of individual pages.  I tested the link; it worked.  If you have any issues with viewing this, let me know.  God forbid that you use dial-up – insert rolling of eyes here.)

HumphreysBenjaminGrubb

And yes, the article answers Sugar’s question.  Of course.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

