A LawtonFest Family Reunion, June 1-2, 2012, Final Chapter

Here we are, back with the LawtonFest Family Reunion again, about to wind things up for this year.

After leaving the Woodstock Plantation, we headed over to Jericho Plantation for a wine-and-cheese reception.  We were not able to view the home, just the grounds outside.  I did, however, slip inside to use the facilities, and I gave myself a quick self-guided tour in my search for the bathroom.  I finally found it, tucked into an out-of-the-way closet-like room off what appeared to be the family room.

This home and plantation, once owned by John Lawton, had been burned by Sherman, then rebuilt after the war with whatever materials were available.

Here’s a little slideshow of the exterior…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And after what we thought was the conclusion to our day, we three headed towards the van.  But on the way, right there in the yard, we saw this…

A tomb? In the yard?

 

So now I have to know if this was a real person…

Next year’s reunion?  A combo!  The Lawton descendants will be joined by the Robert (Roe-bare) descendants right in beautiful downtown Robertville!  Pictures??  I reckon.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “A LawtonFest Family Reunion, June 1-2, 2012, Final Chapter”

  1. leo Says:

    http://www.shorpy.com/

    Ruth, on the above site July 3 is a photo of the St John Hotel in Charleston 1905. It was on the corner of Meeting and Queen and was owned by a branch of the Lawton family. I can give details if Sugar doesn’t already know.

    Like

  2. leo Says:

    If I haven’t mentioned it before I’m losing my memory. I’d like to say slowly, but I’m not sure that would cover it. Sorry I couldn’t remember that you had covered this prior and that I had remarked at that time. A friend of mine told me she was suffering from CRS a while back. When I dumbly said I didn’t know what that was she said, “Can’t remember s#!t.” I have CRS.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      I can’t remember every post I write, so I surely don’t expect you to remember every one. Your link to the Mills House jogged my memory that maybe, just maybe, I had already mentioned it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

