Different Strokes for Different Fokes

Here’s a little post about grooming.  I’m not talking about your daily grooming, like brushing your teeth and washing your face.  I’m talking about PET grooming.

So the BabyBoy had a client call last week in the middle of the day about having his standard poodle groomed.  Sure, he said, bring him on by.

It turned out that the dog had not been groomed since April, a good eight months ago.  And the dog lives outside.  All the time.  The owners decided that they’d get him cleaned up a bit so that he could come into the house for Christmas.

This guy had felted fur right down to the skin, so of course he had to be shaved.

Nice-looking hairy beast.

 

Preliminary shaving of the back results in this.

Notice the clock.  The dog was dropped off in the early afternoon.  He’s already had his bath, which included two sudsings (Is that a word?  I’ll ask google later.) of flea shampoo.  Of course.  Flea infestation.

My goodness, I love this photo. Children, when your mama taught you to comb your hair, it was for a reason. Either comb your hair or the barber will peel it off like an onion layer, right down to the scalp using scary vibrating razors.

His skin is still damp, even after drying for a long time.  The felted hair trapped the moisture (and a lot of the fleas) against his skin.  Sometimes the trapped moisture can cause problematic skin conditions and/or infections, not to mention having to limit oneself to online dating and chat rooms.

Can I get enough of this visual? I think not.

And suddenly, a dog appears.

In actuality, this took hours to achieve.  That BabyBoy is one good groomer.

And you kids out there?  Comb your hair.

 

Tags:

3 Responses to “Different Strokes for Different Fokes”

  1. leo Says:

    Appears to be much like what I imagine shearing a sheep would look like although I’ve never seen that done either.

    Like

  2. sharon boyd Says:

    That brought back memories! At the grooming shop, where I did bath and brush out, I remember people bringing in dogs like that and the relief the dog felt afterward. My specialty was bathing the cats. I used a small window screen in the tub for them to cling to, so much better than trying to climb up my arm.

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      Sharon, that comment just proves – again – why I love the internet. The connections, and the emotions that the connections evoke, are ever present, but the comment about the window screen? Priceless! That is brilliant! I’ve met a lot of groomers and bathers, and I’ve been around animal care professionals and animal owners, and no one has ever said anything about making the cats comfortable except to put a towel in the bottom of the tub for the cat to stand on. A towel in the tub hardly accomplishes anything except to make the bather feel like they are doing something good for the cat.
      I have to tell Sugar and BabyBoy about the window screen! Please patent your method, AFTER we get a window screen…

      Like

Leave a Reply

