I Am A College Graduate! (Part 2)

After the excitement of the farmers’s market in Forsythe Park, we scouted out the location of the Kitchens on the Square.  (Isn’t that cute how I used the word “scout” like we were intrepid explorers advancing into the wilderness?)

Ellis Square!

This is Ellis Square.  No big deal, right?  Wrong!!  Once upon a time, the city destroyed the original Ellis Square and built a concrete parking garage.  I’ll let that sink in for a bit.  No, really, the beautiful square was eliminated so that we could enjoy parking because, after all, what is more beautiful that a historic square?  Obviously, the answer is, as the British say, a car park.

Mo' Ellis Square.

And then the unthinkable happened.  The parking garage was torn down, a giant hole was dug in the ground, and a new parking garage was built in the hole.  You can’t see it, can you?  That’s right, because the new square is on TOP of the parking garage, completely with greenery, fountains, walkways, and people-friendly fixtures.

This enigmatic Brazilian woman keeps popping up in my photos. What the heck?! Is she drinking watermelon juice??

SIL found a great deal by using groupon on the internet.  Have you used it?  You.  Must.  This was the best deal *EVER*.  I can’t even describe Kitchens on the Square adequately so I’ll give you the link.  It’s the funnest kitchen store that you have ever seen.  They have been in Savannah for seven – that’s right – (7) years and I never heard of them.  It is a fun touristy-type of adventure that you would want to do over and over again, even if you are a local.  The store chef (who describes herself as a cook, not a chef, but it doesn’t sound right to say store cook) planned, prepared, and cooked an amazing meal of pork tenderloin, breaded and baked green tomatoes, cornmeal twinkie-type muffins with cream-cheese-based filling, and gingersnap cookies served with vanilla ice cream and fresh Georgia peaches.  All this just for us, prepared right before us.  And, bonus!  Recipes and kitchen tools used in the making of the meal are available.  The recipes were free with the purchase of the meal, the tools, not so much.

Coloring outside the lines makes me nervous. Look! There's Paula Deen!

If I can find my recipes, I will post them.  Later.

Brazilian woman. Again.

I took a photo of my SIL taking a photo of her meal. Apologies for the PG-13 rating.

I can't even look at this photo without my mouth watering.

In the foreground is the baked green tomatoes.  They were breaded in a mixture of Panko, cheddar cheese, and freshly grated parmesan cheese, among other yummy things.  Mouth.  Watering.

And now some words of wisdom from the Kitchens on the Square…

Note to self: Self, should I tag this post as "mature"?

Next:  The Isaiah Davenport House!

Tags: , ,

One Response to “I Am A College Graduate! (Part 2)”

  1. Kariann Says:

    FUN!!!! 🙂

    Great post, makes me miss you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

