Old Letter from Ruth Packett to Ruth Rawls, July 1976

I attended college from 1974-1978.  The school was about 1 ½ hours from where I was born and grew up.  I was one of those odd birds who didn’t want to spend the rest of their life in the town they were born in.  My goal in high school was to live in a big city and work for a big corporation.  I imagined that I would have a position of importance, and that people would come to me with a dilemma, and I would resolve the issue, and everyone would live happily ever after.  I even knew what I would be wearing in my imaginary problem-solving world.  I’d have on a crisp, white long-sleeved blouse with the sleeves turned up at the cuffs in order to better expose my golden bangle bracelets, in addition to my crisp tailored trousers.  I had curly shoulder-length hair with a left-hand part, and I’d push back my hair behind my ears.  So you can understand that I didn’t particularly want to go home at school breaks since I was planning on becoming a business professional, and basically I was bored in my small-town home.

I spent the summer of 1976 at college taking classes and working for the university in the housing department.  I received this letter from my mother’s mother, who at the time was still living in her own home at the unbelievable age of 82.  Within a few short years after writing this letter to me, she would be in a nursing home.

*****

(July 1976)

Dear Ruth,

Thanks for my letter it was real good (to) get it.  I hope you are alright and doing well in school.  I am much better now but I have had a ruff time  Oh boy is it hot here.  I have not heard from your mother this morning but I guess she is alright I hope so any way.  I am not doing much work in the house now  Just what I have to.  Well honey I must close  My hands are not doing to good  I hope you can read this.  Thanks again for my letter  I was so glad to get it.  Maby next time I can right more. 

Much love,

Nanny P.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Old Letter from Ruth Packett to Ruth Rawls, July 1976”

  1. Kariann Says:

    What an inspirational namesake you have.

    I love that you saved your letters.

    Like

  2. Ron s green Says:

    I remember miss Packett that lived across from my Great Aunt Addie Cagley. I used to ride to school with your mom. In a old four door car that the doors opened from the center of the car out to the front and back. Was her name Kate. My Mom did ms Packett,s hair. And I think Kate,s. Oh well enjoyed your blog. Ronnie Green

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      Hello, Ronnie, and welcome to the blog!
      Ronnie, I don’t know your Great-aunt Addie Cagley. I do remember Jean Cagley that lived in the house on the left on Wilson Street, and Grandma lived just past her on the right. Same family?

      Like

Leave a Reply

