Ruth Webb Packett and Baby Evelyn at Old Gray Cemetery, Knoxville, TN

My grandmother Ruth with her first-born Evelyn Ruth

 

This photo was taken after May 31, 1918.  I know this for a fact because the baby in the photo in my mother, and her birthday is May 31, 1918. Her father, James Packett, had probably returned to France where he served in WWI by the time this photo was taken. I can see the shadows of two people in the foreground, and I suspect that the shadow on your left is probably the photographer. He/she appears bent over, and this was the stance that you had to take when using that particular box-style of Kodak camera that had to be held waist-high so that you could look through the viewfinder on the top of the camera.

Old Gray Cemetery began in the mid-1800’s.  It became a popular place to go on an outing because of the beautiful grounds and park-like setting.  That notion seemed bizarre to me when I first heard about it, but when I saw pictures of Old Gray Cemetery, I was convinced that the notion wasn’t as bizarre as it seemed.

You can read more about Old Gray Cemetery by left-clicking here.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Ruth Webb Packett and Baby Evelyn at Old Gray Cemetery, Knoxville, TN”

  1. Kariann Says:

    I have always loved this picture in my parents living room.
    Thank you for the extra information.

    Kari

    Like

Leave a Reply

