A Christmas Sweater for Keebler

About two months ago, the authorities removed 179 Chihuahuas from a home in Marion County, SC.

Maranatha Farm ended up with several of them.  One, a small, terrified male named Keebler, was at the most recent adoption event at Petco on Saturday, December 17, 2010.  He spent most of the day hiding under a towel in his crate, trying to keep warm even though he was wearing a sweater.  When he wasn’t in the crate, someone, like YoursTruly, was carrying him around.

I decided on Sunday that the Keebler elf needed a new sweater.  I had just the perfect yarn for it, given to me for my birthday as part of a larger yarn stash in a beautiful market basket, by the BabyGirl.  Sugar and I were in PetSmart and I measured little doggie sweaters with my hand, using the middle section of my middle finger, which is about 1″ long (yours should be about the same).  I studied the design of the sweaters for sale, noting that the leg openings and the overall lengths of the sweaters take into accomodating the special design of a dog’s body. 

Later that evening, I cast on 56 stitches on a #5 circular needle, joined to make a circle, and went to town.  The sweater just poured off the needles, it was so easy.  The next day I saw Keebler’s foster mom, and we fitted the sweater to his scrawny body.  It wasn’t a perfect fit, but it was darn good, and I noted where I needed to make the adjustments. 

That night I started another sweater for Keebler.  It was in a bright Christmasy red, and I made small adjustments to the design, making the ribbed collar longer for better warmth, and the leg openings a bit wider, and the overall length a bit longer with a nice tapered back.  It took two nights to finish this one, and this morning I wove in the ends and took it to work, hoping to make time to see Keebler and give him his new sweater, perfect for future adoption events.  Who wouldn’t want to adopt a wee darling in a handknit sweater??

Mid-morning, a client called to make an appointment for a nail trim for his Chihuahua.  He’s a wheelchair-bound veteran, legally blind, and a double amputee.  He relies on a community of helpers to transport him, and he enlisted the aid of a relative who brought him and Jellybean to the clinic.  When he got there, he was his friendly old self, and Jellybean was her typical frightened shaking self, and NOT WEARING A SWEATER…

When she left, she was wearing Keebler’s new red sweater, a perfect fit and a perfect color for her.  I couldn’t resist.  I had to give it to her.  She needed it more than he did.

And Keebler?  His new sweater is already on the needles tonight.  The yarn?  A nice, nubbly mix of brown and turquoise that I received last Christmas and haven’t had the time nor the project for it.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “A Christmas Sweater for Keebler”

  1. Leo Says:

    Is he that little elf that has something to do with cookies?

    Like

  2. Kariann Says:

    Where is the like button?

    I LOVE this story.

    ((Aunt Ruth))

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Becky Says:

    This story makes me think of manna from heaven – There is always enough to go around from Ruth, the animal lover! Red suits a dog named “Jellybean”, and brown/turquoise seems perfect for one named “Keebler”. 🙂

    Like

  4. Leo Says:

    May Keebler, Jellybean, and you all have a very nice Christmas. What with each of them having sweaters, and you with your hot Canadian replacement, all the world will be warm, and there will be peace and comfort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

