Mr. Raccoon Makes An Appearance, 9/11/2010

My friend Maria is a wildlife rehabber.  She takes care of injured and/or orphaned animals and birds until they can be released safely.  One summer when she was living a few miles from me, she released several dozen raccoons, and she thinks that some of the raccoon action at the cat feeding station in the woods came from her foster raccoons. 

So, now every time I see a raccoon on the wildlife camera videos, I think of Maria.  And here is a raccoon video that I made for Maria on the event of her birthday, September 11.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Mr. Raccoon Makes An Appearance, 9/11/2010”

  1. Kariann Says:

    You are a good friend, I am sure Maria loved to see the raccoons she had a hand in helping. Have you told her about your Dad and raccoons? Is your friendship strong enough? 🙂

    What would happen to the cats if you didn’t feed them?

    Like

    • ruthrawls Says:

      Maria know the ways of people. Dad didn’t keep raccoons when I was growing up, so I really don’t have any stories to tell her about that. The cats would manage somehow. It’s called the vacuum effect. They go to where there are no cats. That’s why Trap-Neuter-Return is more effective that euthanization. If you remove all the cats, more move in to fill the void. After I first bought the property and was working on some projects here, I would see stray cats strolling through the woods.

      Like

Leave a Reply

