Jackie, the One-Eyed Gambler

JackieInTheBox

I’ve mentioned Jackie before.  She comes to me from Maranatha Farm, an awesome rescue organization in my crappy little county.  Jackie was found as a kitten in a trash can in the park in Savannah.  She appeared to have been tortured from the puncture wounds on her body, and one ear was cut off, and one eye was damaged to the point that it had to be removed surgically.  She was brought back to life and health by Karen at Maranatha, where she has lived for about four years.  Maranatha mostly serves rescue dogs in need of a home, and Jackie was getting bolder and bolder around some of the dogs.  Karen’s fear was that they have several dogs with “prey drive” and Jackie might someday stroll into the wrong place at the wrong time.  She asked if I knew anyone who could foster Jackie, and I volunteered (I’m from Tennessee) the Swamped! Plantation and Cat House. 

Jackie has settled into the shed where she has been for the last month or so.  She likes to get out and about and sit on the perches located in the trees around the shed.  Her latest accomplishment has been to climb onto some shelving units in the shed and get into the loft.  The loss of an eye is not an impediment to most cats, like we humans think it might be.  There are lots of one-eyed cats out there who lead good lives.  Anyway, Jackie doesn’t know any different, and she has learned that the loft in a nice place to have a special can of food away from the others.  I can climb up the ladder and leave this treat for her.

Left ear. Gone.

Right eye. Gone.

Spunk. Not gone.

The above picture was taken at dusk.  This shows the kind of eye effect that you get with cats or other animals in the dusk and dark when light hits their eyes.  I can shine the flashlight over the fence at the cat station and see the reflections of the eyes.  I saw the play “Cats” a few years ago, and now I understand the opening scene much better. 

So Jackie is here to stay until something better comes along.  As if.

Georgia: "Why don't you ever write about me anymore? What do I look like, chopped liver?"

For those of you who don’t know, Georgia and Cali are from upstate New York.  Their former owner says things like, “What about me?  What am I, chopped liver?”  I suppose that could be a regional saying, but I don’t get it.  Maybe someone can fill me in.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Jackie, the One-Eyed Gambler”

  1. Simba Says:

    I can relate to Jackie. I didn’t lose the eye, but I lost about 95% of the sight in my right eye when I was 21. From experience, I see just as much with one eye as I did with two. There are two exceptions to this. One is peripheral view to that side. I can see only enough to detect movement, so that once in a while I jump for no apparent reason, as I detect some movement in that direction. It may be something a long way off, but until I turn my head I don’t know, and it seems a danger at first. Secondly, normally people judge distance by measurement of one eye versus the other. I cannot do that, nor could Jackie. I have adjusted so that I judge distance by the known size of an object. Knowing the size of most common things I can tell how far I am from them. When I first lost the vision in the eye I had a hard time judging how close I was to cars ahead of me going the same direction, but I learned how to overcome that.
    Now, on to chopped liver. It is considered a delicacy by Jewish people. However, it is a very cheap dish to prepare, and therefore thought of as a side dish, never a main meal. So, the phrase denotes a secondary spot in life, more or less.

    Like

  2. ruthrawls Says:

    Chopped liver. Always a bridesmaid, never a bride.

    Like

  3. Becky Says:

    Me likey Jackie and her spunk, Georgia and her unrelenting don’t-ignore-me presence, the image of you climbing up the ladder with her food, and Simba and his perpetual fount of knowledge. Blessings abounding from the Swamped! Plantation on this fine spring day! 🙂

    Like

  4. ruthrawls Says:

    It takes a village to run a plantation. Simba would make an awesome overseer.

    Like

  5. The Tree Inspector « Ruthrawls's Blog Says:

    […] our girl Jackie, the one-eyed gambler.  Apparently the lack of one eye does not deter her from her job as tree inspector.  She is […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

